eceee board nominees

Download the Nomination Committee proposal and report here (pdf).

Recommended by the Nomination Committee

There are five positions that stand open this year: four ordinary board members and one alternate. In order to reach the stipulated division between organisational and individual members, at least two organisational board members must be elected this year.

The following people were proposed by the Nomination Committee:

Organisational members

Susanne Dyrbøl, Rockwool International
Susanne Dyrbøl has a long-standing relationship with and understanding of the eceee via the membership of ROCKWOOL and through her cooperation with the eceee via EuroACE and Eurima.  She has also participated in a huge number of eceee’s policy seminars and summer studies and has, on occasion, acted as an alternate to Adrian Joyce, the previous member of the Board representing EuroACE

EuroACE and Susanne are convinced that legislation should, as much as possible, be based on the best available knowledge. The eceee is an important NGO that makes a considerable contribution to policymaking at both national and European levels by providing evidence-based knowledge and analysis of policies. As part of the EuroACE Board, Susanne has a key interest in actively engaging with eceee as a Board Member in order to help to position eceee as an important knowledge provider in the political landscape in Brussels. Susanne can help to ensure that debates in the eceee Board are nurtured with the latest information and policy developments and she will be able to ensure that eceee’s knowledge is brought into the political discussions in Brussels as well as national level.

Dr. Clemens Rohde, Fraunhofer ISI
Clemens Rohde has been an alternate board member of eceee for the past 6 years and has actively supported eceee's governance within this time. He was actively involved in the redevelopment of the industrial efficiency conference in Berlin and acted as co-chair at the 2017 eceee summer study. His research areas include assessments of energy efficiency potentials in industry, private households and the tertiary sector, the analysis of technological and organizational measures to improve energy efficiency in the aforementioned sectors. Clemens is an internationally recognized expert on energy efficiency with numerous presentations and publications on the topic. He is consulting the German federal government, several other national governments, the European Commission and the IEA.

Individual board members

Dr Joanne Wade, UKACE
Joanne Wade is Director of the Association for the Conservation of Energy and an independent consultant.  She has spent the past 25 years working on a range of energy efficiency and renewable energy topics at the local, national and EU level. Her particular areas of interest are policy and programme evaluation, local energy action, the economic impacts of energy efficiency investment, and action to tackle fuel poverty. Joanne is an Honorary Senior Fellow at Imperial College London and member of the Energy Advisory Panel of the Energy Institute. She has previously served as Chair of the eaga Charitable Trust (a UK charity supporting research on fuel poverty) and as a Board member of eceee.

Erwin Cornelis, Tractebel-Engle
Erwin Cornelis is a leading expert on voluntary agreements, energy audits and energy data in companies, both large and SMEs and also a leading industrial energy policy expert. He also has a very good understanding on energy efficiency obligations and exchange of excess heat utilization with other sectors and how it compares to deep renovation of buildings.

He is now changing position from Senior Expert in Energy Policy at VITO; Belgium to Senior Consultant on Energy Efficiency Programmes at Tractebel-Engie, Belgium. This new position will not only allow him to deepen his knowledge on energy efficiency policies but also to operate in a more global perspective, whereas his current field of operation is mainly European. Apart from his technical expertise, he was until recently the vice-president of the Flemish Cogeneration Association. Erwin has joined many of eceee’s Summer Studies and served as panel leader in 2015.

Alternate for individual members

Paula Fonseca, University of Coimbra
Paula Fonseca received an Electrical Engineering degree from the University of Coimbra. From 1994 to 1995 she has taken a training post at the City Hall of Coimbra, in the department of municipal buildings. She has been involved in ISR-University of Coimbra as researcher in the area of energy planning, renewable energies and sustainable development, energy conservation and Demand-Side Management since 1994. She has been involved on several EU projects to promote energy efficiency, with collaboration with the industry, local and regional authorities, building operators and electricity utilities. She has been extensively involved in the energy monitoring of industrial installations, including power quality assessments. She is a member of the University Core Consultant Team who prepared the Portuguese Plans of Energy Efficiency Promotion (DSM Programme) from 2007 to 2018, successfully evaluated by the National Regulator, in collaboration with the electric utility. She is co-author of over twenty publications and numerous technical reports.

Other nominated candidates

These candidates are not proposed by the nomination committee

Vesna Kolega, Independent consultant, Croatia
Vesna Kolega has 26 years of experience in EE field: 2 years with Croatian Power Utility Institute, 14 years with Energy Institute Hrvoje Pozar, 8 years with North-west Croatia Regional Energy Agency and 2 years as an independent consultant. She has an extensive network of EE stakeholders in Croatia and EU from working with governmental and non-governmental players and has a long-term experience in supporting public authorities on national, regional and local levels in decisions making based on EE solutions.

Vesna has in-depth knowledge of EU policies and legislation in energy and environmental fields as the member of Croatian negotiation team for EU access, and was a member of numerous working groups for transposition of EU EE policies and legislation into national legislative framework. She is also a member of Croatian NGO: Society for Designing Sustainable Development - DOOR aiming to raise public awareness on energy efficiency and sustainable energy issues.