Keynote speakers and plenary sessions

Conference co-chairs

See bio's of conference Co-chairs.

Agneta Persson
WSP, Sweden
Clemens Rohde
Fraunhofer ISI

Plenary speakers

Dr. Brian Motherway is Head of the Energy Efficiency Division at the International Energy Agency, overseeing a range of analytical and outreach programmes supporting energy efficiency globally. Prior to joining the IEA Brian was Chief Executive of the Sustainable Energy Authority of Ireland. Brian holds Bachelors and Masters degrees in engineering and a PhD in sociology.

Yves Marignac is the Executive Director of WISE-Paris, an independent non-profit information, study and consultancy agency on nuclear and energy issues based in Paris, France. After five years of academic studies in Mathematics and on Scientific and Technical Information in Paris-XI University, and four years of applied research on the role of scientific and technical expertise in public policies, he joined WISE-Paris in 1997 to contribute as an expert to a pluralist and informed debate.

He has authored or contributed to many publications and studies, and gave numerous lectures on nuclear risks, energy policies and decision making issues, providing government agencies, parliament bodies, media and non governmental organisations in France and at both European or international level. In 2012-13, he participated, within the French Environment Minister’s cabinet, to the organisation and coordination of a National Debate on Energy Transition (DNTE), preparatory to the 2015 Energy Transition Act. He is a spokesperson and the head of prospective analysis of the independent group of experts, for which he coordinates the production of lowcarbon French energy scenarios.

Ernst Ulrich von Weizsäcker is the Co-President, The Club of Rome. Born 1939, 1972 professor of biology, 1991 Founding President, Wuppertal Institute for Climate, Environment, Energy. 1998 – 2005 Member of Parliament, Germany, and Chair of the Environment Committee. Books: 1994 Earth Politics. 1997 Factor Four (w/ A & H Lovins). 2010, Factor Five (w/ Charlie Hargroves et al.). Homepage

Zhao Ming (Lily is her English name) is the Deputy Director and Secretary-General of the ESCO Committee of China Energy Conservation Association (EMCA). Lily has been working as the Deputy Director & Secretary General and of EMCA from 2005. She is responsible for the daily operations of this national organization in China for more than 10 years. Her work covers EE consulting, training, marketing, membership management, information dissemination and international cooperation.

Lily has been working on energy-related business for about 20 years, starting from consultant on environment protection and management system, to energy efficiency especially energy management service. After her study in the UK on EMS, she focused on the promotion of ESCO industry in EMCA. Supported by the World Bank (WB), Global Environment Facility (GEF) and the Chinese ministry of finance (MoF) and National Development Reform Commission (NDRC), EMCA is working on the promotion of Energy Performance Contracting (EPC) and the development of Energy Service Companies (ESCO). Lily contributed to the national policies for ESCO promotion, and was involved in the national five-year plan. She has close contacts with both the ESCOs and the energy consumers, government agencies and international organizations due to the this national ESCO industry platform. Her 6-month visiting-scholar at the Berkeley National Lab of the United States helped her with international view about energy efficiency and EE financing. Right now, Lily is working as the co-leader of the US-China EPC pilot program. Now that the China ESCO industry has become the biggest one in the world, she has been invited to participate more in international discussions on EE and ESCO development, such as IEA, WB, ADB, EU, DOE of America etc. to share her view about ESCO in China and EE business opportunities.